The UK & Africa 2017 REACH Beyond Zero Annual Awards


The UK & Africa 2017 REACH Beyond Zero Annual Awards

Last week, Wednesday 27th September, the UK & Africa region held their annual REACH Beyond Zero Awards at Trinity Hall in Aberdeen. Over 90 Stork employees, clients and industry peers gathered to recognise the exceptional commitment to HSEQ made by the UK & Africa region’s finalists over the past 12 months.

In its 7th year, the REACH Beyond Zero accolades have become a steady fixture in the calendar and we continue to celebrate excellence in not only safety, but also health, environment and quality. Stork is proud of our continued commitment to improving HSEQ performance and this can be clearly seen from the number of high quality nominations received and shortlisted this year.

There were five award categories, which recognised an individual or team who had made a significant contribution to improving our HSEQ performance across the region, both on and offshore. These were:

  • HSEQ Improvement
  • HSEQ Rising Star
  • Incident Prevention
  • REACH Beyond Zero Value Champion
  • Best Team of the Year


And the 2017 winners are…

HSEQ Improvement

Ryan Mallinson, Heat Treatment Mechanical Designer Engineer

Ryan Mallinson (pictured on the right), Heat Treatment Mechanical Designer Engineer, was awarded the HSEQ Improvement award due to his initiative taken to design and build a Downdraught Plasma LEV bench. This radically reduced airborne fumes, not only for himself but for others around him. The unit has been fully tested by British Engineering Services and has been certified as fit for purpose.


HSEQ Rising Star

Richard Rankin, Rope Access Electrical Technician

Richard Rankin (Ali Dougall, Onshore Focal Point, pictured in the centre collecting the award on Richard's behalf), Rope Access Electrical Technician for Total won the Rising Star accolade for his visible dedication to his work. Since being elected as a Safety Rep., Richard has attained his NEBOSH National General Certificate and is currently studying for his NEBOSH National Diploma. Richard is a proactive, approachable role model when it comes to HSEQ, managing safety issues in a truly professional manner.

Incident Prevention

Greg Learmonth, Offshore Inspection Engineer

The Incident Prevention award was bestowed to Greg Learmonth (pictured in the centre), Offshore Inspection Engineer. Whilst conducting routine inspections of valves, Greg smelt an odour intermittently. Based on his experience he thought this smelt like hydrocarbons and therefore decided to investigate further; using his initiative to obtain a gas monitor. The alarm sounded, meaning that the oxygen levels were depleting and the LEL was increasing to approximately 25-30%. He immediately informed the Area Authority, OOE and OIM who visited the site with Greg, confirming there was a leak. Had Greg not taken the action he did, the leak pressure could have increased which may have potentially led to a serious incident.


REACH Beyond Zero Value Champion

Alan Bartlett, Curlew FPSO Focal Point for Shell

Alan Bartlett (David Cameron, Project Engineer, pictured in the centre collecting the award on Alan's behalf), Curlew FPSO Focal Point for Shell was named winner of the REACH Beyond Zero Champion award.  Alan is seen as a true leader in HSEQ, whereby his team and others on the FPSO seek his guidance, advice and support. He has an excellent work ethic. Alan gets the most out of his team through his proactive approach and has overseen an increase in the amount of long term scaffold dismantled and a consolidation of scaffold storage areas.


Best Team of the Year

Stork’s GREF Team (Global Real Estate and Facilities)

The Best Team of the Year award was presented to Stork’s GREF Team (Global Real Estate and Facilities) and collected by Steven Davidson, GREF Building Services Supervisor (pictured in the centre). The 11-man team supports ExxonMobil’s GREF (Global Real Estate and Facilities) department in Malabo, Equatorial Guinea. The team consistently work in challenging conditions (a “jungle” climate of high humidity). Despite this they have achieved six years without a recordable injury.


Congratulations once again to all our award winners and finalists!