Annual REACH Beyond Zero Awards 2012 nominee interviews

Annual REACH Beyond Zero Awards 2012 nominee interviews

REACH Beyond Zero Award for Safety Representative of the Year

Winner: John Long, Offshore Focal Point, CSL contract, UK

John consistently demonstrates proactive leadership and communication skills with regards to his own team and client management. He always looks for safety solutions to resolve any potential issues and encourages his team to get involved.

REACH Beyond Zero Award for Most Promising Individual

Winner: Gordon Hamilton, Scaffolder, Talisman contract, UK

Since working on the Clyde, Gordon has become instrumentally involved in improving the safety culture on the platform. He is a very proactive safety rep and constantly looks for ways and means to further improve safety performance. Charles was also heavily involved with the reinvigoration of the platform’s CARE system.

REACH Beyond Zero Award for Incident Prevention

Winner: Phil Wilcox, Supervisor, Wood Group contract, UK

Phil was awarded the Triton Top Performer award in 2011 and was recognised for being an excellent leader in terms of safety and work ethic. His outstanding performance in the roles of supervisor and safety rep has also been commended, as was his commitment to supporting and promoting the Triton values.

REACH Beyond Zero Award for Safety Leadership

Winners: Steven Milligan, Specialist Cleaning Manager, Brian Thain, Supervisor, and Ian Walker, Supervisor, Middle East

The Middle East specialist cleaning team carried out a range of challenging and hazardous workscopes in 2011. On top of the excellent incident-free record, Brian, Ian and Steven have demonstrated outstanding skills and motivation to lead a number of multi-national crews in achieving an excellent standard of safety performance and awareness.

REACH Beyond Zero Award for Best Safety Performance

Joint winners: BP Pipeline Operations Team, Azerbaijan and Shenzi Water Injection Team, USA

The Shenzi Water Injection team has been praised by the client for their dedication to safe working practices through REACH Beyond Zero and the positive attitude they bring to the work site. They have shown exceptional safety awareness while carrying out their rigging installation, bolt tensioning and leak testing duties.

REACH Beyond Zero Award for Best Team of the Year

Winner: Janice Alpha FPU Diving Team, Maersk contract, UK

Over a period of 160 days in 2011, the Janice Alpha FPU diving team recorded more than 125,000 manhours without an LTI whilst carrying out crucial subsea inspection and construction activity. The team demonstrated an outstanding commitment to achieving the highest safety standards throughout all operations.